Background

The Nicky Winmar Carnival is an annual round robin tournament targeting Aboriginal male youth aged 13 to 15. The tournament features teams representing both metropolitan and regional WA.

The Nicky Winmar Carnival was originally created to provide disengaged and at risk Aboriginal male youth with another platform to reconnect with the WA Football pathway. The inaugural Nicky Winmar Carnival was played in 2007 and consisted of five teams representing North and South metropolitan Perth and three regional sides. The overall goal of the Nicky Winmar Carnival is to increase the amount of Aboriginal youth and community members participating in clubs and development squads as either players, coaches, umpires, administrators or volunteers.

The carnival provides members of the Aboriginal community with a direct opportunity to:

- Participate in a structured WA football marquee event

- Achieve coaching and umpiring accreditation

- Re-engage with educational and sport participation programs

- Connect with AFL/WAFL mentors and role models

- Potentially be identified for WAFL development pathways

- Nicky Winmar Cup will form some of the selection process to identify boys to participate in the newly formatted Male Kickstart Program (Diversity Championships) 

 

Visit the Male Kickstart Championships for more information.

Event Details

UWA Sports Park, Mt Claremont

8am - 6pm, Sunday 1st March, 2020

No Smoking No Alcohol No Drugs No Violence

To be eligible to play in the carnival you must be born 2005, 2006, or 2007 *

 

Team Details

 

Team

Description

Contact

Claremont - Great Southern

Representing Great Southern region including Albany and Mt Barker 

Matt Bishop - mbishop@wafc.com.au - 0468 473 797
Claremont - Metro

Representing Claremont metropolitan zone 

Declan Cormack - dcormack@wafc.com.au  - 0424 787 273

East Fremantle

Representing East Fremantle zone in the South East metropolitan region of Perth

Jaxon Liddelow - JLiddlow@wafc.com.au - 0401 539 948

EAST PERTH ‘YAAKINY ROYALS’

Representing the current East Perth metro and regional zone Hayden Cobley - hcobley@wafc.com.au  - 0439 255 027

GOLDFIELDS

Representing regions in the Goldfields, in particular Kalgoorlie

Gemma Harrison - gharrison@wafc.com.au  - 0417 179 463

Midlands/Northam  Representing the Midlands and based in Northam and Moora Brett Nelson - brett.nelson@cewa.edu.au - 0429300834 or Glen Collins gcollins@wafc.com.au

MIDWEST

Midwest zone including Geraldton and Mullewa Grady Tomelty - gtomelty@wafc.com.au  - 0439 674 378
Peel

Representing the current Peel football District.

Jesse Tippet - Jtippet@wafc.com.au - 0434 518 280

Perth

Representing current metropolitan zone. 

Kris Shannon -  kshannon@wafc.com.au  -0433 669 519 
South Fremantle

Representing current South Fremantle metropolitan zone.

Regan Atkinson . ratkinson@wafc.com.au - 0437 587 161 
South West/Bunbury Based in Bunbury, representing the South West region of WA

Nathan Douch ndouch@wafc.com.au - 0400 361188

Subiaco

Representing current Subiaco metropolitan zone.

Matt Debaro mdebarro@wafc.com.au - 0402 794 016
Swan Districts

Representing Swans metropolitan zone including Midland and Bassendean

Christian Tufili ctufilli@wafc.com.au  - 0423 989 582 
West Perth 'Djinda Falcons'

Representing current West Perth Metro Zone. 

Andrew O’Brien - aobrien@wafc.com.au - 0422480487

Sharon Kenney sharonkennyconsultant@gmail.com  0400 203 660

Wheatbelt  Representing Narrogin, Katanning, Bruce Rock, Merredin 

Paul Reid  preid@wafc.com.au . 0419 859 576

Nicky Winmar Career

The brilliant South Fremantle, St. Kilda and Western Bulldogs player bewildered opponents and exhilarated the football public for more than 15 years. His silky skills covered the full range of football. He possessed a breathtaking mark, glorious kick and magical ball handling.

  • Number: 7
  • Height: 183cm
  • Weight: 81kg
  • Born: Pingelly, WA
  • DOB: 25-09-1965
  • Debut: 1987
  • 317 Games
  • South Fremantle: 1983-86, 58
  • St Kilda: 1987-98, 230
  • Western Bulldogs: 1999, 21
  • WA: 8
  • 425 Goals
  • South Fremantle: 98
  • St Kilda: 283
  • Western Bulldogs: 34
  • WA
  • All Australian 1991 & 1995
  • St.Kilda Best & Fairest 1989 & 1995
  • St.Kilda Leading Goal Kicker 1988
  • 1st Indigenous player to play 200 VFL/AFL Games

Player Profile © The Encylopedia of AFL Footballers by Russell Holmesby

Contact Us

Contact Brad Collard or Louanne Wakefield using the form below, or using the details below: